The Future’s So Bright, We need a headlamp, map and compass… Part 2.

Jail.

Tyler doesn’t belong in jail. Tyler can’t be home. Tyler couldn’t make it in a group home that was not prepared to handle his special needs. He was in a place that could care for him –but it was costing the state of NJ too much… There are a lot of Tylers out there. New Jersey made them all come home. Not in the best interest of the HUMAN being, but in the best interest of Christie’s wallet. “Return Home New Jersey” –sounds so nice, yes?

Would you put a five year old child in jail?
Please stop looking at young men with developmental disabilities as the 20-somethings they are. Because they are not. In my 20-something college days I used to rail against the system that thought it was appropriate to charge 11 year old children as adults because the crimes they committed were “adult crimes”. We have a juvenile justice system for a reason, and if you want to have this debate… call me. I wasn’t just a bleeding heart –I was a poly-sci/law student with a background in all things medical and psychological. I also had the “this might be your kid someday” monkey on my back.  I look at the photo of Tyler and he looks like my son –only slighter. But there is the beard and mustache… there is the look of a grown up. They look like grown ups. They’ve been on the earth long enough to count as grown ups. But they are children. Toddlers.

Not a week goes by that I don’t see a story of a special needs child being cuffed and taken to the police station because of “bad behavior”. Or what should be called ‘typical behavior of one with xyz condition’. I understand that when these kids meltdown, the situation needs to be controlled –but we need to work on the proper solutions to control it. To stop it from happening in the first place. Or to find the kids most susceptible to toxins and limit their exposure –by the way, we all have a tipping point, some tip sooner rather than later.

To those still claiming we have better diagnosis and this is nothing new, why are states out of money? Why is there nowhere for these kids to go? Just send Tyler to where all the Tylers before him would go.
…where’s my easy button?

How about my Spoiler Alert pic?
spoiler
This is not normal. This is not the way it’s always been. This is new.

I was reminded recently of the time my son’s school plunked down $7,000 to buy him a Dynavox because “We have the money, that’s what it’s for.” Twelve years later, go ask your school today if there is $7,000 to buy your kid anything. In 1998 my child got 40 hours a week of wraparound, OT, ST, Pre-school, mobile therapy… from dawn to dusk and then some, the state was paying for his care.  I added it up when PA was looking to put caps on MA services depending on income. See, in PA, kids with a diagnosis get Medicaid no matter what the parents make. PA started to see the influx of cases and wanted to put a 100K dollar limit on the child’s eligibility, based on parent’s income. Seems reasonable –except I added up Gavin’s expenses for THAT year… and MA had already paid over $100,000 for my child. Ten years later, I couldn’t get a quarter of the services he was getting back then. Agencies were getting less from the state, they started cutting corners and services got poor. We went from having well trained therapists in my house, to bubble headed blondes who stood in my kitchen looking lost.

I shit you not. I worked for one of these agencies as a "TSS" (Therapeutic Staff Support). My training was playing with kids for 6 hours.
I shit you not. I worked for one of these agencies as a “TSS” (Therapeutic Staff Support). My training was playing with kids for 6 hours.

I called the agency and canceled services. Why bother.

We’ve reached a point in my house where my child needs to be medicated.
There are a lot of reasons behind that and I am not going to go into detail right now.

But we are there.
I also made phone calls to see what kind of residential placements I might be able to find for him. I was told all about the really long wait lists.

no-easy-button

Mental wards in hospitals and Jails.
These are going to be the next places that start to feel the pain of an entire generation of kids with brain and body damage from vaccines, pesticides, and petrochemicals.

Ebola all up in your newsfeed? Ask me if I give a fuck.
You people get all worked up over the media bukkake fest of fear and virus outbreaks in the name of clicks and ad revenue… and ignore the HUGE FUCKING PANDEMIC OF RUINED CHILDREN right in front of your face.  A number which grows each year and is expected to be 1 in 2 by 2025. You stare at my child in public and have no clue that you are looking at a dead canary.

WHAT THE FUCK is wrong with people?
You realize that we are going to have to bring back the institutions, right?
There is no other option. And in one generation for every child in one, we will only have one human who can take care of one.
Hm. I guess it’s coincidence Ebola has a 50% mortality rate and it’s suddenly here in this country even though nothing’s changed in the way of air travel and past Ebola outbreaks –other than the ‘fact’ we have a vaccine now.  Maybe our gov’t wants to take out the “weak” 50%, you think? Meh, maybe they just want to make a few more billion.

There is nowhere for Tyler to go. There is nowhere for Gavin to go. There is nowhere for your child to go.

Parents, we really need to start working together to build communities and villages and communes where we can all live together, help each other, support each other… drink together, garden together, live together –or we die alone.  And our kids face a future in jails, mental wards and the new, amazing autism care facilities of the future. For a while… until there is no one left to care for them.

We all need a reality check. Take inventory of what you have, understand that no help is coming, and plan for your own future, for your child’s future. If ‘hope’ gets you through, good on ya… but hope is not currency. Hope is what you are left with when you are powerless. Don’t be powerless. It’s up to us.

“You hid in that ditch because you think there’s still hope… the only hope you have is to accept the fact that you’re already dead.”

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Future’s So Bright, We need a headlamp, map and compass… Part 2.”

  1. In response to “we really need to start working together to build communities and villages and communes where we can all live together, help each other, support each other… drink together, garden together, live together –or we die alone.” Have you seen the M Night Shyamalan movie “The Village”? I’ve been telling people we need to do something like this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

