Ketolicious.

Day 5 back on keto. Five pounds gone. It still seems so counter-intuitive to shove more and more fat in your mouth to lose fat…  EVEN THOUGH I know the science, and the how, and the why. My days are full of shoving a crap ton of coconut oil and Kerrygold* butter into my coffee and on everything I eat.

KG_Pure_Irish_Butter-604x414

Butter, coconut oil, avocados and bacon.
Egg yolks!

homer

Back in the 80’s those foods were vilified.

If you were born in the 70s you remember watching this on laser disc!
If you were born in the 70s you remember watching this on laser disc! While your mom busted ass werkin’ it!

We were told eating all that fat is bad for your heart!! And it will raise your cholesterol!! And give you a heart attack or stroke AND KILL YOU. We were told to eat more grains! Like… 11 servings a day. Eat your pasta and white bread, and Snackwell cookies… they are low fat. *eye roll* –None of that was based on science, by the way.

So what happened with this dietary shift? We all got fat as fuck and/or chronically ill.
(Collective “all” I know skinny people still exist. I know it depends on what you eat and what metabolic issues you have, stress, hormone levels, gut bugs, toxin load, etc. –but I am not getting into that today… keeping it breezy.)

obesity-evolution

Grains are sugar. Excess sugar is stored as fat. Grains and sugar make you fat. Fat doesn’t make you fat.
Dietary fat doesn’t harm your health either –unless consumed by people with inflammation from eating all those grains.
I am not going to reinvent the wheel today –there are many great books out there to read about keto and carbs and all this mess… I will link to them in a minute.

I just wanted to tell you a little bit about Ketogenic diets in MY house. I did this in the summer, but like any good sugar addict I fell off the wagon. And since then… I look at my face in the mirror and freak out. I have aged five years since the summer. I gained 10 pounds back since the summer.  I feel like shit again. No more.

Your body doesn’t need dietary carbs and glucose. It simply doesn’t. Everything you’ve been taught is wrong.
Fat is your friend. (Best fats? Quick overview here.)
There is no such thing as a carb deficiency.
Grains cause the inflammation that leads to heart disease.
Your brain PREFERS ketones for energy –so does you heart.
Dietary ketosis is perfectly safe and it is NOT the same thing as ketoacidosis.
Keto is NOT a high protein diet. Excess protein converts to sugar in your body. It’s a high fat diet. High fat, moderate protein, low carb.
WE NEED CHOLESTEROL in our body.. for Vit D synthesis AND for our brains…

lies
We’ve been lied to.

Gavin had some seizures Christmas morning. Not grand mals, but pretty wicked myoclonic ones. This tells me that while he and I have the same diagnosis, we have two completely different presentations of epilepsy.  Mine has stayed “mild” in the sense that the worst thing to happen to me is I drop and break shit sometimes (er.. often). His makes him fall down, and the grand mals are more likely to come back since he’s had them before.

I say again… the brain prefers ketones for energy over glucose. Back when Gavin first had a seizure I looked up ketogenic diets again (had read a little in the past) –and I found the same information as I had in the past. “Keto diets are extreme and hard to maintain… they have to be JUST RIGHT.” That really scares you away. It sounds HARD. Plus Gavin’s seizures weren’t *that bad*. Not worth the effort, I supposed.

Here’s the thing… they are not really extreme and they are not hard and there are some basic guidelines and you can slip out of ketosis, but it’s worth the effort. It. Is. Not. Hard.

So we’re back on keto.
The books I am going to share here will tell you everything you need to know, and it varies for everyone a bit, but basically the ratio can be an 80/15/5 fat/protein/carb.

Some of my best, skinny mini friends will tell me they can eat grains without problem. Please hold off on telling me that until you get some blood work done. Go get a CBC and chem panel AND get your ESR and CRP checked –Sed rate and C reactive protein. If those are all normal, and you feel healthy and have no complaints and NO medical issues… then YOU are right. YOU can eat grains. But if your ESR and CRP indicate inflammation –then I don’t care how good you look and feel, you are an early death by heart attack waiting to happen, especially if your triglycerides are high and your cholesterol ratio is off.

He's waiting....
He’s waiting….

Go read… now:

Keto Clarity by Jimmy Moore.  A great book to get you pumped to take the plunge, tell you how to get started, and try to calm your fears about eating fat.

Keto Adapted by Maria Emmerich.   She also has a webpage that I love so much, right here.

I still recommend The Wahl’s Protocol as well. Not just for people with MS, but with any chronic health issue. Her Paleo Plus level diet, is ketogenic. She does a nice job at telling you how all disease has the same dysfunction at its core –cellular metabolic problems, it just presents differently in different people. She also sets out a diet plan for those who want to do this and remain vegan. (She is doing a clinical trial, testing her diet, for you “evidenced based” science worshipers.)

Maria and James are working on a cookbook that you can Pre-order here: How am I supposed to wait for July for this!!!

What to expect:
Detox. Both times that I have done this, day 3/4 saw an RA flare. My hands hurt like hell. But it only lasted a day.
Acne gets worse before better… boost your liver.
Boosting your liver will help flush toxins –it makes sense right? Stored fat stores toxins. As you start to lose fat… that crap hits your body. Support the detox process. I am not a doctor.. so go google that shiz yourself. I am sure people with Candida will see a die off. IT MIGHT GET UGLY. Hang in there. READ THE BOOKS COVER TO COVER BEFORE YOU START. I made that mistake the first time, wasn’t prepared with a well formulated diet. It lead to the fall.

wagon

Weight loss 🙂
Clearing of the Brain Fog.
LESS hunger.
YES. Healthy foods cost more than toxic garbage. However, you are less hungry when you consume fat. YOU EAT LESS. This diet costs less. I promise.  I eat once a day on keto. I’m just not hungry.
(Oh yeah, another myth is that you need to eat several small meals a day… um… only if you are on the blood sugar roller coaster. When you switch from being a sugar-burner to a fat-burner, your blood glucose level stabilizes.)

Chronic illnesses vanishing. Type 2 diabetes goes away. Inflammation goes away… so many health problems just go away. Every time I clean up my diet, the rheumatoid arthritis GOES AWAY.
Eczema. Psoriasis. PCOS. … the list goes on.

If Paleo works for you –do paleo.
But paleo didn’t work for me. I was still always hungry. I overate protein. And even “paleo legal” carbs made me sick. Stop struggling if you are struggling, and give this a go.
And for the next time I fall off the wagon…
stand

But, really… no more. I turn 40 in 10 months. I can’t be this sick and miserable at 40 or I’ll throw myself in front of a train.

[*Full disclosure.. I just read this about Kerrygold and want to cry. I guess I will switch to Organic Valley, and try to find a local butter.]

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ketolicious.”

  1. Hey there. I’ve been on the Primal diet for a year and, though high cholesterol runs in our family, those associated labs were normal for me for the first time in my life this summer. Never had I eaten so much bacon and clarified butter. In fact, I avoided them because of CW (conventional wisdom). I did low carb for a while but it caused some issues. Now I do 40/30/30 fat/carbs/protein because of 5-6 days a week treadmilling. “They” say the sweet spot for weight loss is 70-80 grams of carbs per day but I understand you wanting less because of seizure activity. My daughter was on the physician guided ketogenic diet many years ago and it didn’t work for her. We recently went from the GFCFSF diet to a combo GAPS and SCD. When we went GFCFSF her seizures reduced by 66% and I am hoping for more of the same, but really my initial desire to do GAPS and SCD is my belief that she is having gut pain. So, here’s to you Jane Know It All! Cheers! And Happy New Year. 🙂

    Like

    1. I fully subscribe to “Do what works for you”
      So many people getting better on SCD, or GAPS.
      Some get better on primal or GFCFSF, etc.
      Anything is better than the standard American diet, and from there, let the fun tweaking begin.
      I am keeping my carbs low right now. Not going over 20-30 a day and keeping my protein around 60. I’m sure I’ll tweak it as time goes by.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

