Keto Coffee

I can’t get through the day without two mugs of my keto coffee.

IMG_1719

You’ve probably heard of bulletproof coffee, that is trademarked and thus my link to the site. This is my version of it…

I use a French Press, because… coffee.
It’s the only way to go. I like it really strong.

So grab a mug, a jar for shaking and go get a French Press.

IMG_1689

Inside the jar I add about:
1 Tbls of Organic Unrefined coconut oil –I love the taste of coconut, if you don’t use refined.
1 Tbls of unsalted Kerrygold Grassfed butter.

–Then the optional stuff, I sprinkle in some clove, cinnamon, and a drop or two of Orange Essential oil. (Add Nutmeg to that to make “Pumpkin Spice”) I accidentally put chili powder in once instead of clove and it was a nice surprise 🙂

I use an old coconut oil jar for the mixing. Some people like to use a blender for this –Meh, too much to worry about and clean, it’s possible to shake the jar hard enough to make an emulsion of the oil/butter and coffee. And you DO want to shake it into an emulsion, if you just stir it the oil sits on top and that makes for a greasy first few sips.

Here is what it looks like, everything in the jar:

IMG_1685

Next, pour in the coffee…

IMG_1697

Find a lid that you can tighten well –otherwise you get a steamy, pressurized surprise when you start to shake it 🙂

IMG_1703

Shake it wicked good, it will get hot… so I shake it really fast, swap hands and then eventually grab a dish cloth to wrap around it so that I don’t burn my hands 🙂 You want the coffee to be hot, it helps everything blend better.

IMG_1708

After I mix it, then I add about 1/4 cup of coconut milk and give it another shake before throwing it in the mug. Use Organic canned coconut milk, don’t buy that commercial shiz full or preservatives and additives. I suppose you can skip this step, but coconut milk is a good fat when you’re looking to boost your fat intake.

IMG_1715

Voila! Drink it while it’s hot. The way I make it has about 30 grams of fat. Use more or less to fit your keto ratio.

IMG_1718

 

2 thoughts on “Keto Coffee”

  1. Love the idea of adding nutmeg and/or cinnamon. My husband and I’ve been trying this for the past week and love it. Is this supposed to be a breakfast replacement? I do worry about the added calories even though I know I’m not supposed to. Any thoughts?

    Also I cannot get a French press to work for me for sh…. Sugar. Wonder what I’m doing wrong?

    Like

    1. When you are doing a keto diet you will not over eat. There are days where all I want is my coffee and nothing else. All that fat signals to your body that you are not hungry. So yes, for me this is a meal replacement. I usually have one meal a day and two cups of this. And I am not hungry because there are no blood sugar spikes.
      Maybe watch some videos on youtube about the French Press to see how others use it? I love mine!

      Like

Leave a Reply

