Copper Mugs & Moscow Mules –Product Review.

I jumped at the chance to review this copper mug when it popped up, little did I know that it was the proper vessel for serving the Moscow Mule –look, I don’t get out much and it’s not like I am a bartender or some sophisticated drunk!

IMG_1797

I actually didn’t even have my first Moscow Mule until a couple of months ago when some friends were visiting and made one for me. I was just happy to try a copper mug because I had read there were health benefits to drink from copper –an essential element found in our bodies (P.S. MTHFR/Autism crowd –a lot of us have too much copper and bad copper/zinc ratios, so you might want to do some blood work before making a copper mug a part of your everyday drinking habit). This mug is NOT lined, so you will get the benefits of the copper.

Gather your supplies… Limes, Vodka, Ginger Beer (REAL Ginger Beer –not some weak ass ginger ale), ice and I love adding mint.
Believe it or not, I still had some vodka left from when my friends brought it two months ago (See, I am not nearly the alcoholic I that I joke I am!).

IMG_1794

Take about three ice cubes, and smash them –to me, this drink calls for crushed ice. I put a cube in the palm of my hand and crack it a couple times with the back of a big spoon.
Cut a lime in half and squeeze the ever living crap out of it, into your mug.
Throw in two shots of vodka.
Pour in a bottle of Ginger beer.
Add a lime slice and some mint for garnish… I even smashed a few mint leaves and put them in the mug.

This made for a very sweet drink as the ginger beer I used –while delightfully spicy, was a bit intense with the sugar. So once I had drank about half the mug I topped it off with some more vodka. I realize my mistake now… I found myself tipsy before 5 p.m.

If you plan on making a steady diet of these, maybe cut the ginger beer with carbonated mineral water.

Go, go get your mug set! Enjoy!
–by the way, I was not required to write a blog as part of my review, but you know I am going to tell you about the awesome things that I try!

Leave a Reply

