PomStream Silicone Baking Mats Product Review & Gluten Free Chocolate PB Cookies

First up, this is a product review.
Don’t ever count on me to give you an actual decent recipe when it comes to baking. I make things up as I go along. I will kinda-sorta include the recipe here… but your guess is as good as mine on how I made these 🙂 As far as gluten free goes, however, they’re pretty awesome.

So here are the baking mats that I got from PomStream.
IMG_2112

They say for best results hand wash –but I tossed these in the dishwasher and they are just fine. Maybe that will wear them down over time, but I just wanted to see what would happen 🙂

They are a bit small to fill my biggest baking sheet and a bit big for my smallest.. but that is really no matter, they worked fine anyway.
These mats are also freezer and fridge safe… and well, obviously… oven safe!

IMG_2230

IMG_2231

The cookies I made came right up off the mat, no worries.
Nothing stuck.
Here is the before:
IMG_2232

Here is the after:
IMG_2233

They are non toxic.
Easy to clean. I love the idea of saving some $$ on all the parchment paper we go through. Now I can just use these baking mats.
They don’t retain food odors —so very multipurpose, you don’t have to worry about using one for certain foods and one for other types of food –you won’t have odors and tastes from past recipes mixing in.

Not sure why I held out so long to try silicone baking items. Now that I have I need more 🙂

The cookies? Well…
IMG_2234
I knew I had peanut butter and rice flour.
So I found this recipe. I had most of the ingredients. Sort of.
I used 1 cup of coconut sugar and 1 cup of Demerara Sugar.
I didn’t have any butter so I used 1 cup of unrefined coconut oil.
The eggs, peanut butter and baking soda were added as stated.
Only… half way thru this I realized I didn’t have Rice Flour because I NEVER use Rice Flour. I have no idea where my head was…  I use coconut flour! BUT… coconut flour is very absorbent and soaks up all your liquid.

So I found this recipe using coconut flour and had to try to fix my mess. These were going to be grain free, but now I had to grab some kind of flour to hold these together without really messing things up.
I grabbed my box of King Arthur Gluten Free flour mix and used one cup of that.
I noticed that I had some cocoa in the cupboard –that is why these look a little “burnt” They are not burnt. I just put a little bit of cocoa in for taste, not enough to make them look chocolate.  How much?  Not a little, not a lot.
I took from this recipe the idea to put some vanilla in these and the pinch of salt.

So now… I had that all mixed up really well and started adding in coconut flour a little bit at a time. I’d sprinkle just enough to cover the dough in the bowl, mix that up, and then add a little more.
YES, coconut absorbs everything up… but coconut oil needs something to help hold it together. It’s no ideal for baking –but like I said, I was out of butter/shortening.

I have no idea how much I used. I did the sprinkle and mix thing a few times until the consistency seemed like it would hold together. Check out the before/dough ball shot above.
Maybe I used between 1/4 and 1/2 cup.
350 degrees for about 10-12 minutes. You have to let them cool a bit on the tray before moving them to the cooling rack because they are just too soft. The first one that I tried to put on right away just fell right though the cooling rack!

As far as GF goes… they are yummy.
WAAYYY too much sugar though –so you know the kids love them.
Next time I will just follow that second recipe.

IMG_2237

Leave a Reply

